RSS Feed

Crossing Thresholds Luncheon

On October 4, 2011 Truth be Told held their 7th annual fundraising luncheon. This year’s theme was “Crossing Thresholds.”

It was the highest attended annual luncheon to date. Held at the Westover Hill Church of Christ, around 200 people came to hear about the Truth be Told programs, listen to graduates speak about the transformation that TBT has made in their lives, and support the program so that Truth be Told can reach even more women.

The event kicked off with Katie Ford, Behind Bars Facilitator, who shared her story of getting involved.

“Truth Be Told brings out the best in people,” Katie said.

Katie then introduced a group of Truth Be Told graduates, who each told their stories in 30 seconds.

Alina said:

“Truth Be Told allowed me to see that I wasn’t a bad person. I was a good person, making bad choices. It gave me my life back. I wouldn’t be here without Truth Be Told.”

Other graduates spoke of the TBT groups as being a safe place, helping them get in touch with their real feelings, accepting themselves and others, and the only reason they are where they are today. All of the stories shared were those of transformation.

Graduate Katherine Boyett then stood, and she didn’t say a word. Instead, she began belting out a song in a very powerful voice. “I know I’ve been changed,” she sang, and it was evident in her voice.

TBT Executive Director Shannon Holtzendorf then took the podium. Shannon shared her story of becoming familiar with the TBT program when her mother went to prison at 50-plus years old.

“It took my mother going to prison for us to learn how to tell each other the truth – even when it hurts,” Shannon said. “Our relationship is stronger than ever because of what this program has taught us.”

Two more TBT graduates stood to bravely share their stories with the crowd. Debra Broussard’s truth was difficult to listen to, filled with abuse and pain and loss. Debra ended with the declaration:

“I stand before you today as a princess warrior.”

She received a standing ovation as she left the podium, and I don’t think there was a dry eye in the room.

Graduate Margie Stone stood next, saying:

“Today I share my truth with everyone I meet – because people need to know about women like me. I’m no longer silent.”

Steve Sofhauser, donor and volunteer, invited the audience to support the important Truth Be Told programs and help us grow into other communities; and finally TBT Founder Nathalie Sorrell took the stage to thank everyone for coming and close the luncheon.

It was a powerful and successful event. If you would like to find out more about how you can get involved with or support Truth Be Told, please visit www.truth-be-told.org or email office@truth-be-told.org.

Co-Founders Carol Waid and Nathalie Sorrell with Truth Be Told graduates

About Shelley Seale

Shelley is a wanderer and student of the world, yoga chick, voracious reader and dog lover. She pounds the keyboard as a freelance writer, author and publication designer, based in Austin, Texas when she isn't traipsing around the globe. Shelley has written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, The Week, Fodor's, The Telegraph and Texas Monthly, among others. Shelley has performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano, and was once robbed by a monkey in India. But she doesn’t know how to whistle.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Co-Founder’s Journey: Nathalie Sorrell’s Story « Truth Be Told

  2. Pingback: Awakening Through Truth Be Told « Truth Be Told

  3. Absolutely beautiful to read, it still makes me emotional to know I was a part of this event. My hats off to you Shelly for putting together such a beautiful presentation about Truth Be Told and the princess warriors , who know what it’s like to need someone like Truth Be Told to care about them. I was and am still blessed to have met everyone associated with this program and I hope to continue to be active for TBT’s cause.

    Reply
  4. Having had Nathalie as my bestest friend in high school, I am so proud of the work she has done and the lives that are being touched! You all are doing such a wonderful work with eternal results. Congratulations to all of you and much love to my forever friend.

    Reply
  5. I love this! I am preparing for my class today, at the Hilltop Unit in Gatesville, and my heart has been reconnected to the reason I love working with women that are willing to live authentically, and speaking their TRUTH.

    Reply

What are your Thoughts?