RSS Feed

Truth Be Told welcomes new executive director

Posted on

 

Headshot_2017_Enright

photo credit: abigailenright.com

To many of you who support and follow Truth Be Told, I am likely a familiar face. But still, I would like to take this opportunity to introduce myself to you as I step into my new role as executive director of Truth Be Told.

Seven years ago, I attended a Talk to Me graduation at Lockhart prison. This is the Truth Be Told program that invites incarcerated women to share the story of what they believe put them on a path to prison. It’s a powerful journey that evokes self-awareness and accountability for one’s life and plants seeds for healing and transformation.

I should know, because I’ve now gone on this journey 12 times as a volunteer Talk to Me facilitator at Lockhart. The program is unlike anything I know offered in prison in that the facilitators work the program alongside the incarcerated women. We, too, examine our lives and attempt to discern what has led us to our current metaphorical prisons. Being a Talk to Me facilitator for Truth Be Told awakened in me gifts I didn’t know I had and liberated me from self-limiting beliefs that had continued to trip me up well into my adult life.

It became clear to me after a few years of volunteering for Truth Be Told that my heart is fully invested in this work and that I want to dedicate my professional career to restoring integrity to the lives of incarcerated and formerly incarcerated women. So, it was with great delight when the opportunity arose this summer to become Truth Be Told’s executive director.

I have not traveled an obvious or conventional path to get here, but — then again — that’s indicative of the wondrous work we do at Truth Be Told. Our programs transform lives behind and beyond bars. I ask for your patience as I acclimate to my new role. In the coming months, I will be working closely with our program director, Carol Waid, and our volunteer board members to further define the organization’s short-term and long-term priorities. I feel deeply honored to collaborate with Truth Be Told in this new way and look forward to sharing our progress as developments unfold.

blue skies,

Katie Ford
katie@truth-be-told.org

About katieford

I am the executive director of Truth Be Told (www.truth-be-told.org) and the program director of the Healing Trauma launch at Lockhart Women's Correctional Facility (www.iamkatieford.com/healing-trauma-launch).

4 responses »

  1. This is so awesome! What a perfect person for the job – congratulations Katie and Truth Be Told!

    Reply
  2. Hi Katie,

    The photo of you is outstanding! You are clearly in your full glory! There is not a better choice on the planet for the role of Executive Director for Truth Be Told. You have a unique combination of skills, training, first hand experience, understanding, and total commitment to the women and families you serve.

    Bravo! Congratulations! Hallelujah!

    Rock on, Katie Ford.

    With love, respect, and gratitude,

    Emily Harris

    Reply

What are your Thoughts?

