RSS Feed

Grasonville to Salisbury, MD via Delaware (15th state) – 65 miles

8/21/12 Grasonville to Delaware to Salisbury, MD via Delaware (15th state) – 65 miles


After a sad/happy goodby hug with Amita, we headed out for Salisbury. While a little overcast, it looked to be a good biking day weather wise. Again, I noticed the hint of fall in the air – my favorite time of year.

Other than the traffic, we couldn’t have had better riding  conditions.  A beautifully paved flat road with wide, wide shoulders. I cruised along and thought about tomorrow and all that means to me and others in my life. At one point, while I was stopped at an intersection, this man rolled down his window beside me and enthusiastically started asking all the regular questions. He was very complimentary and wished me the best – said it was his dream to ride cross-country some day and he was jealous. I encouraged him to just do it if that was his dream, and he said hopefully some day. Funny how this trip has changed my thinking about some things – “some day” for me has come to mean now. Living in the present. Life is too short to risk missing out. Randy forwarded this quote to me by Mark Twain:

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you did not do than by the ones you did do.  So throw off the bowlines.  Sail away from the safe harbor.  Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore.  Dream.  Discover.”

Soon after crossing into Delaware – the 15th state on the trip, we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant in Bridgeville, DE. To our surprise and delight, they had really good sweet potato fries. I had to take a picture because you never know – these might be our last of the trip.

After lunch, we cruised the rest of the way to Salisbury in continued ideal riding conditions. On the way to the hotel, we passed a street called Sassy Street. I heard Randy yell at me from behind – “I can’t believe you didn’t stop to take a picture.” I confess the thought did cross my mind, followed  by the realization that I will see my girl in just a few days now. Just hope she wants to come home to Austin with me rather than take up permanent residence in Florida.

We checked into the hotel rooms arranged for us by Amita. Great hotel for a great price in the perfect location for resumption of the ride in the morning.

I have been receiving a number of e-mails and calls from friends re their excitement and encouragement as I head into the last day tomorrow. I have been so emotional the last few days and it is all a little overwhelming  – in a good way. Mostly, I feel overwhelmed by a sense of gratitude for so many things.

Tomorrow we will ride approximately 30 miles to Ocean City, MD, where my TRANSAMERICA ride will officially end with the dipping of my front tire in the Atlantic.
I will end here with a quote that I received from my good friend Joe Loiacono this afternoon:

“Once a journey is designed, equipped, and put in process, a new factor enters and takes over. A trip, a safari, an exploration, is an entity, different from all other journeys. It has personality, temperament, individuality, uniqueness. A journey is a person in itself; no two are alike. And all plans, safeguards, policing, and coercion are fruitless.

“We find after years of struggle that we do not take a trip; a trip takes us. Tour masters, schedules, reservations, brass-bound and inevitable, dash themselves to wreckage on the personality of the trip.

“Only when this is recognized can the blown-in-the glass bum relax and go along with it. Only then do the frustrations fall away. In this a journey is like marriage. The certain way to be wrong is to think you control it.” — John Steinbeck

What are your Thoughts?

