RSS Feed

Why I Serve on The Truth Be Told Board

Amber Vazquez Bode, a Truth Be Told Board member, is featured in Moms I’d Like to Know, sharing her experience of being a criminal defense attorney and a mother.

AmberBode

By Amber Vazquez Bode

As a criminal defense attorney, I have been a party to hundreds and hundreds of people entering the prison system in Texas. Almost all of them have broken my heart, because I got to know them as a person, and I am acutely aware of what the prison system does to chip away at a person’s humanity.

When I was asked to serve on the Board of Truth Be Told and began to understand what TBT did, it felt like the other half of the equation to my professional life. It was like a light breaking through the darkness to see healing, strength, and growth emerge out of an otherwise depressing and soul-crushing situation.

It also confirmed what I have always believed: redemption is available to every human until we take our last breath. It is never too late to start over and begin a new life. No one is too bad, too broken, or too “systemized” to heal their heart.

One of the things that resonates the most with me is that TBT does not disqualify people based on their crime or how many times they have been in prison, like everything else in the system does.

I am a part of Truth Be Told not only because I want to make the world a safer place for me and my family, but because the work that we do helps heal entire families for generations and that is a value that cannot be measured.

I am humbled by each story of pain and triumph and inspired to face another day in the harsh and frequently unfair justice system within which I work. Our graduates are the embodiment of everything I strive to be, and I believe that my involvement has not only made me a better advocate, it has made ne a better person.

About MaryAnn Reynolds

Offering bodywork in the Austin, Texas, area at maryannreynolds.com. Blogging about wellness at The Well: bodymindheartspirit. Serving as a volunteer editor for the Truth Be Told Community blog.

3 responses »

  1. Amber, I’ve heard you talk about why you serve TBT, but I’ve never heard the rest of your story. I enjoyed reading your interview on the “Moms I’d Like to Know” site and seeing a fuller picture of you. I really admire your tenacity and can-do attitude!

    Reply
  2. This is so poignant and enlightening. Thank you for being part of our organization!

    Reply
  3. I love rereading this interview from Amber! Great idea to put it out for all our interested viewers to read Mary Ann! Nathalie

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

What are your Thoughts?

