RSS Feed

A Beautiful Evening at Parkside with the Jeff Lofton Quartet

Last night, Truth Be Told celebrated “An Evening Under the Stars” with the Jeff Lofton Quartet and 48 guests, at the fabulous Parkside restaurant. Many guests who were new to TBT showed up to support us; everyone enjoyed hors d’oeurves and drinks as the Jeff Lofton Quartet played their fabulous jazz sounds.

Guests then enjoyed a spectacular dinner featuring the culinary talents of Shawn Cirkiel. During dinner, TBT Board Chairperson Amber Bode spoke of the important, transformative work our organization is doing with women behind and beyond bars.

“I’m here because I believe in redemption,” Amber said. “I believe in second chances. I’m a part of Truth Be Told because I don’t believe in such a thing as throwaway people. A little bit goes a lot further in this organization, than in any other I’ve ever seen.”

“It was great to hear our Board Chair speak with eloquent fire about TBT’s contribution to the lives of the women we serve,” co-founder Nathalie Sorrell adds about Amber’s presentation. “Her years of experience as a defense attorney give her a realistic perspective on how our compassionate, creative classes on facing & speaking about their past lives can help them to bring about changes in their lives as members of the communities they return to on release.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Facilitators Kathleen Littlepage and Julie Wylie also shared their experiences with the program and the women they’ve worked with, before an inspirational video was shown that clearly demonstrates the transformative changes we are making in women’s lives…and by extension, their families and society as a whole.

“Many people commented that they thought the facilitators’ stories, combined with the video of our graduates and my back story, really gave them a clear picture of who we are and what we do,” Amber said after the event.

As Amber told the guests that evening, our programs have far more demand than we are able to meet. Our dream is to be able to create this model program that can be taken into women’s prisons all over. Everyone who supports us with their time, money and/or talents is greatly appreciated!

You can make a donation, or find out more about Truth Be Told,
at our website: http://www.truth-be-told.org.

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."

One response »

  1. Pingback: End of Year News from Truth Be Told « Truth Be Told

What are your Thoughts?

