RSS Feed

Hancock to Hagerstown, MD – 30 miles

8/18/12 Hancock to Hagerstown, MD – 30 miles


After yesterday’s trauma, we decided to make it a short day to Hagerstown, and take a 1/2 day off. I spent probably 2 hours blow-drying stuff just so I could pack it to ride. I asked the desk clerk if it would be possible to use the motel dryer for just 10 minutes because we had been caught in the downpour yesterday and everything got drenched, but she refused because of “motel policy.” So, back to the hair dryer. Needless to say, we were a little late leaving.

The sun was out and it was a beautiful day. Perfect temperature. For the past week or so, I have noticed the hint of fall in the air – the change of seasons coming. Fall has always been my favorite time of year.

One thing I knew – there was no way I was getting back on the C & O trail. I told Randy to feel free to ride the C & O if he wanted, I would meet him in Hagerstown. However, I think he had had enough as well. We were able to take a paved bike trail the first 10 miles, then got on the state highways the rest of the way. It was a really beautiful ride, and although there were a number of rolling hills the shoulder was wide and the traffic not too bad.

We stopped for lunch in Clear Springs and pulled the Hotwire trick one more time to get a 3 star hotel in Hagerstown for a great price. We happily checked in early enough to enjoy the afternoon in a rather luxurious hotel. I took a long nap.

A wonderful day on the heels of trauma. It looks like we are now within 4 days of the Atlantic coast, putting us there on Wednesday afternoon. As sad as I am to see the trip end, I admit to a little excitement at getting this close with the end in sight. Again, I can feel that competitive nature kicking in, and I find myself riding somewhat like a horse with the stable in sight – full out.

What are your Thoughts?

