RSS Feed

Rest Day in Cleveland

8/10/12 Rest day in Cleveland


Got up early and did some laundry. Then, Randy and I headed to the bus stop for the 45 minute ride downtown to go to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. It rained off and on. When we arrived downtown, we found a little cafe named “Al’s” and had spinach, egg and cheese breakfast sandwiches. I was also delighted to find that Al’s had grits. I love grits and no one has had them so far. A good start to the day.

The Rock and Roll Hall of fame was pretty much what I expected, except that it did not follow any particular order. By that I mean you might see a couple items of someone you didn’t know or recognize intermingled with a couple of items belonging to a big star. Or, someone that wasn’t as famous might have several windows full of stuff, then a huge megastar might have 1-2 items off to the side. I found that odd. We spent 2-3 hours and decided that was enough.

Randy decided to head to the water front. I took off to find Trinity Cathedral, an Episcopal church headed by a female Dean who is also a photographer. Several years ago I read and really enjoyed a book that she wrote, and which included many photos she had taken. I had always thought I would like to see  the church and hear her preach if I had the opportunity. I took some time to just sit in the sanctuary and enjoy the stillness.

It started raining again as I made my way around the church to the prayer garden. Again, I just took a few minutes to experience the stillness, before heading back to find the bus.

I was pretty worn out by the time I got back to the hotel, and after grabbing a quick bite to eat I went to bed early.

What are your Thoughts?

