RSS Feed

Rest day in Sioux City, IA

Posted on

7/20/12  Rest day in Sioux City, IA

Had a wonderful day just taking it easy and getting a few things done before leaving tomorrow for RAGBRAI. Took a short ride to stretch my legs and find an ATM and Starbucks to stock up on via for the next coming weeks. I found a big, clean, modern “real” grocery store and had to keep reminding myself that anything I bought I had to carry. So, I stuck to the basics, although it was nice to look. As I was wandering around, I suddenly spotted dark chocolate covered blueberries that Maxine had introduced me to in Eugene. I have not been able to find them since. I immediately snatched up a bag, and contemplated getting even 2 and putting something else back. But then I remembered how hot it is and if these things melt it will be a mess. So, I settled for 1 bag, knowing I would have the opportunity to enjoy them today for sure and maybe tomorrow.

Returned to the motel and  washed and re-packed everything to make it easier for RAGBRAI. Also decided which clothes to switch out for those Glada is sending up with her friend. Watched a little British Open, responded to some e-mails, took and nap and just generally savored every possible moment in the motel, since it will be a week of camping before I see another motel.

Randy and I met and biked to Luciano’s for dinner. I found it on the internet and it looked promising for pasta dishes. It turned out to be a gold mine! We had pasta primavera in olive oil with all sorts of delicious veggies. The salad and bread were fabulous as well. And the price was unbelievably reasonable. I was so happy to have such a nice meal after weeks on end of burgers, grilled cheeses and fries. Delicious.

Went back to the motel and continued my mental preparations for camping at RAGBRAI.

What are your Thoughts?

